IEEE 802.16 Working Group on Broadband Wireless Access





Dr. Roger B. Marks 325 Broadway, MC 813.00 Boulder, CO 80305 USA Tel: +1 303 497 3037 mailto:r.b.marks@ieee.org 12 May 2004

Dear P802.16-REVd Balloting Group:

Thank you for your participation in the Sponsor Ballot of P802.16-REVd. The first recirculation of this ballot ran from 1-15 April 2004. A number of comments were submitted. Resolutions were developed by a Ballot Resolution Committee comprised of the 90 members of the IEEE 802.16 Working Group on Broadband Wireless Access.

As a result of comment resolution, 8 of the 10 recirculation Disapprove voters (Naftali Chayat, Marianna Goldhammer, David Johnston, Tal Kaitz, Vladimir Yanover, Yossi Segal, Shawn Taylor, and Cor van de Water) indicated satisfaction with the resolutions and indicated a change in their vote to Approve. At this point, the tally is 58 Approve, 2 Disapprove, and 2 Abstain. Of the two remaining Disapprove voters, Neil Shipp is satisfied with the resolutions of his comments but has not yet indicated an intent to vote Approve. Nico van Waes has not responded to the comment resolutions yet. By virtue of the voting numbers, the ballot is considered to have passed, pending recirculation.

We are requesting that the IEEE Balloting Center initiate a fifteen-day recirculation of the new draft P802.16-REVd/D5, along with the four outstanding Disapprove comments (all from Nico van Waes) and their resolution. Those comment are detailed on the following pages.

Please take this opportunity to review the material. You are not obligated to reply; if you do not, your current vote will stand. Based on the *changes* to the draft or on the Disapprove comments and responses, you may change your vote and/or submit additional comments. If you wish to re-vote or comment, please keep the deadline in mind. Instructions have been provided by the IEEE Balloting Center.

If you were one of the voters agreeing to switch from Disapprove to Approve based on comment resolution, I request that you confirm your decision by submiting a ballot.

Sincerely,

Roger Marks Chair, IEEE 802.16 Working Group on Broadband Wireless Access