

Project	IEEE 802.16 Broadband Wireless Access Working Group http://ieee802.org/16 >		
Title	IEEE 802.16 Working Group Letter Ballot #36: Announcement		
Date Submitted	2011-12-08		
Source(s)	Roger B. Marks Consensii LLC r.b.marks@ieee.org		
Re:	IEEE 802.16 Working Group Letter Ballot #36		
Abstract	This document announces and details the procedure for IEEE 802.16 Working Group Letter Ballot #36, in which P802.16.1b/D1 is under review.		
Purpose	To document the process of Working Group Letter Ballot #36.		
Release	The contributor grants a free, irrevocable license to the IEEE to incorporate material contained in this contribution, and any modifications thereof, in the creation of an IEEE Standards publication; to copyright in the IEEE's name any IEEE Standards publication even though it may include portions of this contribution; and at the IEEE's sole discretion to permit others to reproduce in whole or in part the resulting IEEE Standards publication. The contributor also acknowledges and accepts that this contribution may be made public by IEEE 802.16.		
Patent Policy and Procedures	The contributor is familiar with the IEEE-SA Patent Policy and Procedures: http://standards.ieee.org/guides/bylaws/sect6-7.html#6 and http://standards.ieee.org/guides/opman/sect6.html#6.3 . Further information is located at http://standards.ieee.org/board/pat/standards.ieee.org/board/standards.ieee.org/board/standards.ieee.org/board/standards.ieee.org		

IEEE 802.16 Working Group Working Group Letter Ballot #36

Roger B. Marks

1. Introduction

This announcement opens IEEE 802.16's Working Group Letter Ballot #36, on the question:

To forward to the IEEE 802 LMSC Executive Committee, for IEEE-SA Sponsor Ballot, IEEE P802.16.1b/D1 http://ieee802.org/16/pubs/802161b.html>

Ballot opening: **8 December 2011**Ballot closing: **7 January 2012** AOE

http://timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?year=2012&month=01&day=08&hour=01&min=0&sec=0&p1=1033

2. Procedure

2.1 To submit a ballot

To submit a ballot, use the form at:

http://dot16.org/ballot/ballot36.

2.2 Disapprove Votes

Disapprove votes must include specific "Technical" comments (indicated as "Part of Dis" for "Part of Disapprove Vote") on what must be done to the comment resolutions to change the vote to "Approve".

2.3 To submit a ballot with comments or to submit comments only

If you wish to submit a ballot with comments (with or without a vote), you must download the standalone program *Commentary* (**version 2.17 or higher**) and use it to prepare your vote and comments. Submission instructions are included. *Commentary* is available at:

http://dot16.org/Commentary.

Comments *must* be submitted following the procedure defined in the ballot form:

http://dot16.org/ballot/ballot36.

2.4 To confirm receipt of your ballot and check the ballot status report

To confirm receipt of your ballot, see the real-time report at:

< http://dot16.org/ballot/ballot36/results.shtml>.

You can also check the ballot status report, which is not regularly updated, at:

http://ieee802.org/16/ballots/ballot36.

3. Working Group Letter Ballot Process

3.1 Criteria for Approval

3.1.1 50% Return Rate

The ballot will not be considered successful if less than 50% of the ballot group members return a vote. If this return rate has not been achieved by the specified closing date, the ballot may be extended by the Working Group Chair.

3.1.2 75% Approval Rate

The ballot will not be considered successful unless approved by at least 75% of the ballot group members voting "Approve" or "Disapprove".

3.1.3 Comment Resolution

The Working Group shall attempt to resolve all comments collected in the ballot process. All substantive technical changes, and all unresolved negative votes, together with the reasons of the negative voter and the rebuttal by the Ballot Resolution Committee, shall be subject to a recirculation ballot of at least fifteen days.

3.1.4 Failed Ballots

Should the approval rate be less than 75%, the Working Group shall nevertheless proceed with comment resolution and then offer "Disapprove" voters the opportunity to change their vote to "Approve". Should this process result in a 75% or higher approval rate, the approval criterion in 3.1.2 shall be considered met.

Should this process fail to achieve the 75% approval rate, a new draft shall be prepared in accordance with the comment resolutions. A new Working Group Letter Ballot of the resulting draft shall be initiated by vote of the Working Group or at the discretion of the Working Group Chair.

3.2 Ballot Group

The Ballot Group for Letter Ballot #36 is provided in Annex A. It includes the names of individuals who are Members of IEEE 802.16 as of the start of the Letter Ballot. Except to remedy errors in this membership list, the Ballot Group will not change through the course of Letter Ballot #36, including its resulting recirculation ballots, even as the Working Group membership changes. The Working Group Chair may deny participation in the ballot due to failure to declare valid affiliation during Working Group sessions.

3.3 Obligation of Working Group Members to Participate in Ballot

The IEEE 802.16 Membership Procedures, which are in accordance with the IEEE Project 802 LAN/MAN Standards Committee (LMSC) Policies & Procedures and IEEE 802 Operations Manual, specify that Working Group Membership shall be lost if two consecutive, or two of any three consecutive, Working Group Letter Ballots for which the member was eligible are not returned or are returned with an abstention other than for 'lack of technical expertise'." Note that participation in the initial round of the ballot is required to fulfill this obligation and to assist the Working Group in meeting the 50% return rate requirement.

3.3 Participation by Individuals outside the Ballot Group

Individuals who are not Ballot Group members are welcome to submit ballot comments following the procedure in 2.3.

3.4 Public Release of Individual Ballots

Detailed ballot results will be posted to the IEEE 802.16 Web Site.

4. Patent Policy and Procedures

The IEEE 802.16 Working Group operates under the IEEE-SA Patent Policy and Procedures. See:

http://standards.ieee.org/guides/bylaws/sect6-7.html#6 and

http://standards.ieee.org/guides/opman/sect6.html#6.3.

Further information is located at http://standards.ieee.org/board/pat/pat-material.html and http://standards.ieee.org/board/pat/pat-material.html and

Annex A: Ballot Group for IEEE 802.16 Working Group Letter Ballot #36

Note: Participation in ballot may be denied due to failure to declare valid affiliation during Working Group sessions.

Agiwal, Anil	Al-Kanani, Hassan	Barber, Phillip
Bims, Harry	Bratspiess, Inbar	Cha, Jaesun
Chang, Sungcheol	Chang, YoungBin	Chen, Chiu-Wen
Cho, HanGyu	Cho, Hee Jeong	Cho, Jaeweon
Cho, Youngbo	Choi, Jinsoo	Chou, Ching-Chun
Chun, Jin Young	Colban, Erik	Fang, Yu-Chuan
Gal, Dan	Godfrey, Tim	Hoang, Anh Tuan
Hoang, Vinh-Dien	Hsiao, Ying-Chuan	Hsu, Chun-Yen
Huang, Rui	Imata, Satoshi	Jan, Yih Guang
Josiam, Kaushik	Jung, Inuk	Jung, Soojung
Kang, Bohyun	Kang, Hyunjeong	Kiernan, Brian
Kim, Eunkyung	Kim, Hokyung	Kim, Jeongki
Kim, Namgi	Kim, Seokki	Kuo, Ping-Heng
Kwak, Jin Sam	Lee, Anseok	Lee, Eunjong
Lee, Hyun	Lee, Jin	Lee, Yang-Han
Li, Honggang	Li, Ying	Lin, Yi-Ting
Liru, Lu	Maeder, Andreas	Marks, Roger
Mohanty, Shantidev	Murias, Ron	Nigam, Anshuman
Oodo, Masayuki	Park, Giwon	Park, Jeongho
Park, Jisoo	Pathmasuntharam, Jaya Shankar	Qin, Fei
Ramakrishna, Sudhir	Ryu, Kiseon	Sambasivan, Sam
Seol, Ji-Yun	Sherman, Matthew	Shono, Takashi
Son, Yeongmoon Son	Tao, Ming-Hung	Taori, Rakesh
Teo, Joseph	Triglia, Alessandro	Tsai, Chia-Lung
Tsai, Tsung-Yu	Tseng, Hsien-Wei	Wang, Arthur
Wang, Hai	Wang, Haiguang	Wang, Lei
Wei, Hung-Yu	Yeow, Wai Leong	Zein, Nader
Zeira, Eldad	Zhang, Xin	Zheng, Shoukang
Zheng, Yan-Xiu	Zhou, Lei	Zhou, Mingtuo