802.16 Task Group 1: Session #10.5

December 12-14, 2000: La Jolla, California, USA

This was a meeting of Task Group 1 only.

The meeting was hosted by Jay Klein of Ensemble Communications, which served as corporate host and absorbed the meeting costs.

The site was the:

Embassy Suites Hotel San Diego-La Jolla
4550 La Jolla Village Drive
San Diego, CA 92122 US
Tel: +1-858-453-0400
Fax: +1 858-453-4226
1-800-EMBASSY (1-800-362-2779)

Informal Report

by Roger Marks, TG1 Chair

This was a productive meeting and a lot of fun.

  1. Yair Bourlas, Ensemble Communications Inc.
  2. Carl Eklund, Nokia Research Center
  3. Andy Ickowicz, IEEE Standards Activities
  4. Robert Johnson, Ensemble Communications Inc.
  5. Brian Kiernan, InterDigital Communications Corp.
  6. Jay Klein, Ensemble Communications Inc.
  7. Don Leimer, WirelessHome
  8. Sergio Licardie, DMC Stratex Networks, Inc.
  9. John Liebetreu, Intersil Corporation
  10. Roger Marks, NIST
  11. Ronald Meyer, Crosspan Network Access Technologies
  12. Glen Sater, Motorola Inc.
  13. Andy Schiltz, Ensemble Communications Inc.
  14. Ken Stanwood, Ensemble Communications Inc.
  15. Chris Tappenden, Nortel Networks
  16. Arthur Wang, WirelessHome
  17. Vladimir Yanover, BreezeCOM Ltd.
  18. Juan Carlos Zuniga, Harris Corporation
Editing Update

Jim Mollenauer has resigned as TG1 Technical Editor due to his new employment status. Roger Marks is acting in this capacity.

IEEE Standards Activities has assigned Andy Ickowicz as Project Editor for the TG1 draft. Andy's first task was to complete the incorporation of changes approved at Session #10; these changes had been delayed due to Jim's resignation. Andy began work before the session. He attended the session, working closely with the members. He agreed to complete the updates accepted at Session #10 by 15 December.

Changes Requested by TG3

A primary purpose of the session was to restructure the document in response to Document IEEE 802.16.3p-00/56 ("Using the TG1 MAC for TG3 Purposes: Report of the TG3 MAC Ad Hoc Group", by Vladimir Yanover, Subir Varma, and Huanchun Ye). Further input was provided in two contributions by Naftali Chayat and Vladimir Yanover:

The group addressed this topic in three ways: Clause Editors

TG1 has assigned Clause Editors to be responsible for the editing of specific section of the TG1 draft. These Editors are:
1 Overview Roger Marks
2 Normative References Roger Marks
3 Definitions Jose Costa
4 Abbreviations and Acronyms Jose Costa
5 Service Specific Convergence Sublayers -
5.1 ATM Ken Stanwood
5.2 Ethernet Glen Sater
5.3 IP Carl Eklund
6 MAC Sublayer -
6.1 MAC Service Definition Ken Stanwood
6.2 Data/Control Plane -
6.2.1 Message Formats Glen Sater
6.2.2 Access Methods Ken Stanwood
6.2.3 Network Entry Juan Carlos Zuniga
6.2.4 Ranging Ken Stanwood
6.2.5 Quality of Service Glen Sater
6.3 Management Plane Carl Eklund
7 Security Sublayer Carl Eklund
8 Physical Layer -
8.1 PHY SAP Vladimir Yanover
8.2 Physical Layer Suitable for 10-66 GHz Andy Schiltz & Jay Klein
9 Configuration File Ian Baragar/Chris Tappenden
10 Parameters and Constants Phil Guillemette
11 TLV Encodings Sergio Licardie
A Functional Requirements Roger Marks
Figure Editor Andy Schiltz

Those with questions marks have been nominated by the Task Group but have not yet been informed of this interesting opportunity. In cases where a name appears more than once, there is an opportunity for new volunteers to step in. Please let me know if you would like to participate.

Ron Meyer prepared minutes.

Thanks to Jay Klein for hosting a comfortable meeting and Ensemble Communications for generously serving as corporate host.

Return to 802.16 TG1 Page