802.16.3 Task Group INVITATION TO CONTRIBUTE PHY PROPOSALS: Session #11 Deadline: January 17, 2001

Task Group 3 of the IEEE 802.16 Working Group on Broadband Wireless Access is currently defining the PHY protocols for a broadband wireless access network specification for frequencies from 2 through 11 GHz. The specification will be based on submitted contributions, with increasing detail required as the process progresses. Mergers and improvements will be encouraged, with selection scheduled for July 2001 and refinement to follow.

This Invitation to Contribute is being issued to individuals (listed below) who were selected by IEEE Task Group 802.16.3 on November 20, 2000 based on their initial PHY contributions at Session #10. Should those individuals reply responsively to this Invitation to Contribute, their contributions will be accepted and published and they will be offered a position on the Task Group presentation agenda during Session # 11 (22-26 January 2001 in Ottawa, Canada) to present and discuss the merits of their proposals **from multiple contributors are strongly encourage**d. Proposals submitted jointly by several invitees will be considered for additional presentation time on the agenda. Uninvited co-submitters are welcome.

Uninvited contributions, if responsive to this invitation, will also be published. During the opening session of the Task Group they will be considered for agenda placement following the normal agenda modification process (requiring a motion and a second by voting members and a majority vote of the members attending the session). If accepted onto the agenda at that time, uninvited proposals will be evaluated without prejudice.

Contributions will be considered only if they are submitted using Revision 8.2 or higher of the 802.16 Document Submission Template

http://ieee802.org/groups/802/16/docs/802_16_template.doc. The template requires a cover page and a narrative. Any accompanying presentations are required to be submitted using Revision 8.2 or higher of the 802.16 Presentation Submission Template.

The proposals will be evaluated based on the Evaluation Criteria agreed to in Session #10 and listed in the Session #10 Voting instructions: http://ieee802.org/16/tg3/docs/802163-00_20r1.pdf

Contributions must follow the guidelines below:

- Include a descriptive title.
- Include an overview and a reference model that describes functions, including interfaces to other layers.
- Explain how the proposal relates to existing standards and note the differences.
- Describe the benefits of the proposal, including any unique features.
- Describe all drawbacks of the proposal.
- Include a statement on intellectual property rights and how 802.16 may utilize the proposal in a standard.
- Include a copy of the PHY Evaluation Table specifically addressing each criterion.

Each Voting Member of 802.16 is eligible to participate in the evaluation, if and only if present, with scores due on January 25, 2001. **Proposal submitters receiving a** combined score of 7 or better (out of 10) in *any Evaluation Criteria* will be invited to submit a detailed contribution for session #12 in March 2001.

The material content of the proposal must be contained in either the contribution itself or in documents that are readily available on the Internet by following a cited hyperlink. Evaluators will be justified in ignoring any referenced information that is not readily available.

Contributions will be considered non-confidential and will be posted as soon as possible following receipt, for public access on the 802.16 Web Site http://ieee802.org/16.

Email your contribution, for receipt by the **deadline of 17 January 2001**, to the following:

802.16.3 Chair Brian Kiernan brian.kiernan@interdigital.com 802.16.3 Secretary Dean Chang dchang@bnasystems.com

Appendix:

Invitations are issued to:	Document # 802.16.3c-00/
Bob Heise	29
Naftali Chayat and Tal Kaitz	30
C. Grimault, O.Seller	31
Yossi Segal, Zion Hadad, Itzik Kitroser	33
Yossi Segal, Zion Hadad, Itzik Kitroser	34
Huanchun Ye	35
Ron McCallister, John Liebetreu	36
Yonatan Manor	37
Robert M. Ward	38
Brian Edison, Fredrick Enns, David Fischer, John Langley, David Williams	39
Anader Benyamin-Seeyar	40
Nico van Waes	41
A. Roger Hammons	43
Jose Francia, presented by Vincente Quilez	44
Dave Williams, Sean Sonander, Peter Close, Keith Picavance	45