1/26/2001 802.16.3-01/05

802.16 Task Group 3 INVITATION TO CONTRIBUTE PHY PROPOSALS: Session #12 Deadline: March 5, 2001

Task Group 3 of the IEEE 802.16 Working Group on Broadband Wireless Access is currently defining the PHY protocols for a broadband wireless access network specification for frequencies from 2 through 11 GHz. The specification will be based on submitted contributions, with increasing detail required as the process progresses. Mergers and improvements will be encouraged, with selection scheduled for July 2001 and refinement to follow.

This Invitation to Contribute is being issued to individuals (listed below) who were selected by IEEE Task Group 802.16.3 on January 25, 2001 based on their PHY contributions at Session #11. Should those individuals reply responsively to this Invitation to Contribute, their contributions will be accepted and published and they will be offered a position on the Task Group presentation agenda during Session # 12 (12-16 March 2001 in Hilton Head, SC) to present and discuss the merits of their proposal. Joint or merged proposals from multiple contributors are very strongly encouraged. Proposals submitted jointly by several invitees will be provided additional presentation time on the agenda. Uninvited co-submitters are welcome.

Contributions will be considered only if they are submitted using Revision 8.2 or higher of the 802.16 Document Submission Template

http://ieee802.org/16/docs/802_16_template.doc. The template requires a cover page and a narrative. Any accompanying presentations are required to be submitted using Revision 8.2 or higher of the 802.16 Presentation Submission Template.

The proposals will be evaluated based on the Evaluation Criteria agreed to in Session #11 and listed in IEEE 802.16.3-01_07 "Evaluation Criteria List for Session # 12 Voting Purposes" http://ieee802.org/16/tg3/docs/802163-01_07.pdf

Contributions must follow the guidelines below:

- Submit the document in the format of a draft standard
- Include a descriptive title.
- Include an overview and a reference model that describes functions, including interfaces to other layers.
- Explain how the proposal relates to existing standards and note the differences.
- Describe the benefits of the proposal, including any unique features.
- Describe all drawbacks of the proposal.
- Include a statement on intellectual property rights and how 802.16 may utilize the proposal in a standard.
- Include a copy of the PHY Evaluation Table specifically addressing each criterion in a quantitative manner where appropriate.

1/26/2001 802.16.3-01/05

Each Voting Member of 802.16 is eligible to participate in the evaluation, if and only if present, with scores due on Thursday, March 15, 2001. **Proposal submitters receiving** an average of 7 or better (out of 10) for all Evaluation Criteria will be invited to submit a detailed contribution for session #13 in May 2001.

The material content of the proposal must be contained in either the contribution itself or in documents that are readily available on the Internet by following a cited hyperlink. Evaluators will be justified in ignoring any referenced information that is not readily available.

Contributions will be considered non-confidential and will be posted as soon as possible following receipt, for public access on the 802.16 Web Site http://ieee802.org/16.

Email your contribution, for receipt by the **deadline of 5 March 2001**, to the following:

802.16 Chair, Roger Marks r.b.marks@ieee.org

802.16.3 Chair Brian Kiernan brian.kiernan@interdigital.com

802.16.3 Secretary Dean Chang dchang@bnasystems.com

Appendix

Invitations are issued to:	Document # IEEE 802.16.3c-01/
Naftali Chayat, Tal Kaitz, Marianna Goldhammer, Sean Sonander, Garik Markarian, David Williams, Neil McSparron, J. Francia, Jose F. Kukielka, Vicente E. Quilez	01
Yossi Segal, Zion Hadad, Itzik Kitroser, Olivier Seller, Dave Williams	11
Anader Benyamin-Seeyar, David Falconer, David Shani, Moshe Ran, Vacit Arat, Demos Kostas, Remi Chayer, Frederick Enns, Malik Audeh, Joe Hakim, Subir Varma, Dean Chang, Brian Eidson, Yoav Hebron, Chet Shirali, Sirikat Lek Ariyavisitakul, John Langley, David Fisher, Garik Markarian, David Williams, Igor Perlitch, Ed Kevork, Ray Anderson	08
John Langley, Demos Kostas, Garik Markarian, David Williams, Igor Perlitch, Ed Kevork, Joe Hakim, Subir Varma, Dean Chang, Sirikat Lek Ariyavisitakul, David Falconer, Brian Eidson, Yoav Hebron, Remi Chayer, Anader Benyamin-Seeyar, Frederick Enns, Malik Audeh, David Fisher, David Shani, Moshe Ran, Vacit Arat	09
Randall Schwartz	19
Dave Williams, Sean Sonander, Neil McSparron, Garik Markarian, Keith Pickavance	05