IEEE-SA 802 Executive Committee – Statement on Conflicts of Interest

In its 19 September 2006 announcement, the IEEE-SA Standards Board directed the 802 Executive Committee to identify members who are free of conflicts with respect to the 802.20 Working Group. The nonconflicted members are charged generally with ongoing supervision of the 802.20 Working Group, and specifically to work with the new 802.20 officers, once appointed,

- to identify and address any efforts to dominate the IEEE 802.20 Working Group,
 - whether by affirmatively seeking to achieve a standard through domination
 - or by deliberately blocking the development of a standard.
- to submit a plan for approval to the SASB at its December 2006 meeting to ensure that dominance does not occur in the 802.20.
- to implement a plan of action (using current methods as prescribed in their (802LMSC) procedures (including treating the votes of a dominating organization as one vote) or other remedies that may be relevant.
- report to the SASB within 30 days of the end of each interim and plenary IEEE 802.20 session on its continuing efforts in this area.

On October 20, 2006, the 802 EC met by telephone to begin the process of identifying nonconflicted members. Each member was invited to make disclosures of potential conflicts and to state whether he or she thought it presented an actual conflict. After disclosures were made, only two members in attendance (Messrs. Nikolich and Rigsbee) had no apparent conflicts. All members except these two were therefore excused, and Messr. Nikolich and Rigsbee continued the meeting. In addition to the disclosures made during the meeting, each EC member was invited to state privately any additional information relevant to that person's (but not any other person's) potential conflict.

After considering this information, Messrs. Nikolich and Rigsbee determined that the following individuals had a conflict of interest (or had voluntarily recused themselves) and should therefore be recused from decisions relating to 802.20: Mat Sherman, Bob Grow, Stuart Kerry, Dr. Roger Marks, Steve Shellhammer, Vivek Gupta, and Carl Stevenson. Messrs. Nikolich and Rigsbee determined that the remaining individuals did not have conflicts of interest (Nikolich, Thaler, Hawkins, O'Hara, Rigsbee, Jeffree, Heile, Takefman, Lynch, Greenspan and Thompson.)