2005-02-17 IEEE 802.16-05/009

IEEE 802.16 Working Group on Broadband Wireless Access

http://WirelessMAN.org



Dr. Roger B. Marks 325 Broadway, MC 813.00 Boulder, CO 80305 USA Tel: +1 303 497 7837 mailto:r.b.marks@ieee.org 17 February 2005

Dear P802.16e Balloting Group:

Thank you for your participation in the Sponsor Ballot of P802.16e/D5, which ran from 5 October to 4 November 2004.

The response to this ballot was quite high. The result was 74 Approve votes, 58 Disapprove votes, and 9 abstentions. We received 1977 comments. The IEEE 802.16 Working Group, acting as the Ballot Resolution Committee, has worked diligently to resolve these comments. As a result, we hope to satisfy many of the Disapprove voters during recirculation and bring the resulting ballot into approval status. A list of the Disapprove voters is included as an Annex to this cover letter.

We are requesting that the IEEE Balloting Center initiate a fifteen-day recirculation of the new draft P802.16e/D6 (file *P80216e_D6.pdf*), along with a marked-up a copy (file *P80216e_D6delta.pdf*) with all changes indicated. In addition, we are including a report of the Disapprove comments received, as document IEEE 802.16-05/010 (file *80216-05_010.pdf*). We have chosen to report separately, in the spreadsheet IEEE 802.16-05/011 (file *80216-05_011.zip*), our responses to the 1075 comments of one voter, David James. Note that comments whose resolution has been explicitly accepted are not being recirculated. However, not all commentors have been consulted, so many of these resolutions may also turn out to be satisfactory to the commentor. In some cases, the comments and resolutions refer to document numbers of the form C802.16e-04/XX or C802.16e-05/XX. These documents are available at http://ieee802.org/16/tge.

Please take this opportunity to review the material. You are not obligated to reply; if you do not, your current vote will stand. Based on the changes to the draft or on the Disapprove comments and responses, you may change your vote and/or submit additional comments. If you wish to re-vote or comment, please keep the deadline in mind. Instructions have been provided by the IEEE Balloting Center.

If you have voted Disapprove as shown in the Annex, I urge you to review the comment resolution and let us know which, if any, of your comments have been satisfactorily resolved. If you choose to cast an Approve vote, we will assume that all of them are resolved to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Roger Marks

Chair, IEEE 802.16 Working Group on Broadband Wireless Access

2005-02-17 IEEE 802.16-05/009

Annex: Disapprove Voters

Aditya Agrawal	Gordon Antonello
Phillip Barber	John Barr
David Castelow	Yong Chang
Naftali Chayat	Aik Chindapol
Jose M. Costa	Mark Cudak
Lester Eastwood	Carl Eklund
Yigal Eliaspur	Darwin Engwer
Mo-Han Fong	Colin Frank
Mariana Goldhamer	Ronen Greenberg
Qiang Guo	Haixiang He
David James	Gilb James
Tal Kaitz	Mika Kasslin
Byoung-Jo Kim	Itzik Kitroser
Jonathan Labs	Yigal Leiba
Jun Li	Aviram Lobel
Michael Lynch	Jianglei Ma
Jeff Mandin	Andy McGregor
Scott Migaldi	Ronald Murias
Kadathur Natarajan	Richard Pace
Jose Puthenkulam	Oded Redlich
Maximilian Riegel	Tony Saboorian
Yossi Segal	N. Shankaranarayanan
Victor Stolpman	Rainer Ullmann
Huaiyuan Wang	Lei Wang
Joanne Wilson	Geng Wu
Vladimir Yanover	Hang Zhang
Yonatan Zvi	zion hadad
brian johnson	wen tong
Nico van Waes	peiying zhu