

## **Call for Comments**

## IEEE 802.16 License-Exempt Task Group

## Deadline: 28 February 2006

IEEE 802.16's License-Exempt (LE) Task Group <<u>http://ieee802.org/16/le></u> is working to develop a draft under the P802.16h PAR, which was approved by the IEEE-SA Standards Board on 8 December 2004. The PAR: <u>http://ieee802.org/16/docs/04/80216-04\_56r1.pdf</u>

has the following scope statement: "This amendment specifies improved mechanisms, as policies and medium access control enhancements, to enable coexistence among license-exempt systems based on IEEE Standard 802.16 and to facilitate the coexistence of such systems with primary users."

The Task Group has been maintaining a pre-draft Working Document. The current version is available as IEEE 802.16h-06/004: http://ieee802.org/16/le/docs/80216h-06\_004.zip

Comments should be submitted using the Commentary tool, which can be downloaded from: http://ieee802.org/16/docs/Commentary

The identified topics for comments include:

- 1. High level text in 15.2.1.1
- 2. Definition of the process for Adaptive Channel Selection 15.4.1
- 3. Entering a community over the air (without using GPS coordinates) 15.2.1.3
- 4. Communication using the Coexistence Time Slot unify the existing approaches
- 5. Possibility of BS-BS communication over the air -15.6.6
- 6. Default value for the "same MAC Frame duration" and channel width in a coexistence profile 15.2.2.3.1
- Coexistence with preferred spectrum users, such as "wireless microphones" and "emergency systems" 15.3.2
- 8. All the chapters "calling for comments"

The comments / contributions will be considered non-confidential and will be posted for public access on the IEEE 802.16 Web Site <a href="http://WirelessMAN.org">http://WirelessMAN.org</a>>.

Submit your contribution by the **deadline of 28 February 2006** following the instructions at <<u>http://WirelessMAN.org/submit.html</u>>. Make use of the "le" upload directory: <<u>http://le.WirelessMAN.org</u>>

For further information, contact one of the following:

- Chair of IEEE LE Task Group: Mariana Goldhamer <mailto:marianna.goldhammer@alvarion.com>
- Vice Chair of IEEE 802.16h Task Group: Barry Lewis <mailto:blewis@redlinecommunications.com>
- Chair of IEEE 802.16 Working Group: Roger Marks <mailto:r.b.marks@ieee.org>