Newly-elected 802.16 Vice Chair for SEC confirmation on 25 July

Dear SEC:

At its Opening Plenary of 21 July 2003, the 802.16 Working Group elected a new Vice Chair: Kenneth Stanwood. The election fills a vacancy due to the resignation of Carl Eklund. The term begins at the end of the current session and runs through the end of the March 2004 802 Plenary.

Ken is highly qualified for this position. He was named a WG Member by Chair's Discretion in July 2000 for his technical contributions to the development of the 802.16 MAC. He has remained a member, participating in all but one of the 802.16 sessions since then (plus two special TG interims). As Task Group Chair, he was responsible delivering both IEEE Std 802.16c and IEEE Std 802.16/Conformance01 and for getting IEEE Std 802.16/Conformance02 to unanimous approval in WG Letter Ballot. He participates actively in the technical development of most of the 802.16 standards.

The election process was carried out as described in the "IEEE 802.16 Working Group Officer Election Process" (IEEE 802.16-03/28). There were three candidates. Ken was elected by majority vote without the need for a runoff election.

According to the LMSC Rules (5.1.2), "LMSC Working Group Chairs and Vice Chairs shall be elected by the Working Group and confirmed by the LMSC Executive Committee." Therefore, I'd like Ken's confirmation to be on the consent agenda for the closing SEC meeting of 25 July.