2007-04-02 IEEE 802.16j-07/013

Call for Technical Comments Regarding IEEE Project 802.16j Deadlines: 23 April 2007 AOE (submission to TG) 6 April 2007 AOE (submission for ad-hoc group review)

On 30 March 2006, the IEEE-SA Standards Board approved Project Authorization Request (PAR) P802.16j http://standards.ieee.org/board/nes/projects/802-16j.pdf authorizing the development of an amendment to IEEE Standard 802.16 regarding Multihop Relay. The PAR includes the scope statement:

This document specifies OFDMA physical layer and medium access control layer enhancements to IEEE Std 802.16 for licensed bands to enable the operation of relay stations. Subscriber station specifications are not changed.

The 802.16 Working Group's Relay Task Group http://ieee802.org/16/relay is developing the P802.16j project. The Relay TG has prepared several documents to be used as guidelines:

- Evaluation methodology: IEEE 802.16j-06/013r3 http://ieee802.org/16/relay/docs/80216j-06 013r3.pdf>,
- Definitions and terminology: IEEE 802.16j-06/014r1 http://ieee802.org/16/relay/docs/80216j-06-014r1.pdf,
- Usage Models: IEEE 802.16j-06/015 http://ieee802.org/16/relay/docs/80216j-06 015.pdf>,
- Technical requirements: IEEE802.16j-06/016r1 http://ieee802.org/16/relay/docs/80216j-06 016r1.pdf>,
- Table of contents: IEEE 802.16j-06/017r2 http://ieee802.org/16/relay/docs/80216j-06 017r2.pdf>.

It has also agreed to a baseline document:

- P802.16j Baseline Document (IEEE 802.16j-06/026r3)

http://ieee802.org/16/relay/docs/80216j-06_026r3.pdf,

with P802.16j Commentary Database (IEEE 802.16j-07/008).

http://ieee802.org/16/relay/docs/80216j-07 008.zip>,

This Call for Technical Comments requests comments on, and associated contributions relevant to, the P802.16j Baseline Document, considering the five guideline documents cited above. For uniform handling, each contribution should be referenced, by document number, by a comment indicating the relevant section (page/line/clause, etc.) of the baseline document.

Comments must be prepared using the *Commentary* tool http://dot16.org/Commentary and use the Ballot ID "16j", so that the exported comment file name is of the format 16j_FamilyName_GivenName.cmtb. Any associated contributions must follow the instructions at http://wirelessman.org/submit.html. Contribution document naming format will follow the standard IEEE 802.16 naming convention, using j for the project designation, with the format C802.16j-07/xyz. Make use of the Relay upload directory http://relay.WirelessMAN.org to post your comments and any associated contributions.

Failing to any of conditions shown above may exclude the comments and contributions for review.

Referring to the last session's Summary and Closing Remarks (IEEE 802.16j-07/011r3) < http://ieee802.org/16/relay/docs/80216j-07_011r3.pdf>, please note that the remaining deferred comments will be handled first at the next session. Any new comments will be handled after completing those if time allows.

2007-04-02 IEEE 802.16j-07/013

The Relay TG Chair has organized ad-hoc groups as approved, to cover the comments deferred so as to accelerate discussions and any possible harmonization effort towards the next May session. Reports and suggestions from each ad-hoc group will be provided at the next session. Any new comments intended for review and discussion at a relevant ad-hoc group shall be submitted to the relay TG upload server, with clear indication which ad-hoc group to handle, by 6 April 2007, AOE. Those may be handled at the ad-hoc meeting after completing the existing comments and can be included in the ad-hoc chair's suggestion. Otherwise to be handled at the TG as usual.

The ad-hoc groups organized are as follows:

1. Frame Structure Chair: Mike Hart/Dorin Viorel

2. Security Chair: Robert Sun

3. Mobility Management Sleep/Idle Mode Chair: David Comstock/Yuefeng Zhou

4. HARQ Chair: Wen Tong/Young Bin
5. Routing and Path Management Chair: G-Q Wang/John Li

6. MAC PDU Construction Chair: Jeffrey Tao

7. Measurement & Reporting Chair: I-Kang Fu/Dorin Viorel 8. Other MAC/Other PHY Chair: Peiving Zhu/Mike Hart

Those being interested in any ad-hoc activity will be encouraged to contact the ad-hoc chair. The ad-hoc meeting information (date and time, teleconference contact, agenda, etc.) will be announced via the IEEE 802.16WG Email reflector.

For further information, contact one of the following:

- Relay Task Group Chair: Mitsuo Nohara <mi-nohara@kddi.com>
- IEEE 802.16 Working Group Chair: Roger Marks <r.b.marks@ieee.org>