IEEE P802.3ck Telephonic Interim meeting – April 29, 2020

Prepared by Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- · Approval of the Agenda
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder:
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- IEEE Copyright reminder
 - https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/index.html
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder
- Ground Rules and operations reminder
- Next Steps for 3ck
- Comment Resolution
 - C2M
 - Eye Opening (EO) Criteria: #137
 - EO Continuous Time Filter: #114 (ghiasi_01 slide 14), 10157, 143, 10143, 10158 (out of the IR bucket)
 - Stressed Module Input: #111, 112
 - Channel:#72 (sun_3ck_01a_0120 slides 29/30), 71
 - BER: #92
 - Jitter: #108, 107, 10063
 - Loss Value: #110
 - VEC Wording: #10062
 - ghiasi_03 (CMRL, RLCD only)
 - CMRL: #127, 126
 - RLCD: #119, 125, 124
 - CR other
 - healey 3ck 02 0320
 - Ref Clk: #73 (cross clause to be applied to 120F, 120G, 162, 163)
 - ran_3ck_04_0320
 - 2nd Postcursor: #57
 - Quadrature Jitter: #10252 (out of the IR bucket)
 - C2C (likely won't get this far, but in case we do...)
 - TP0a Measurement: #35
 - RX Jitter Tol: #36
 - RX Interference Tol: #78, 156

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20_03/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:00 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20_03/agenda_3ck_07_0320.pdf

The chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair asked if there were objections or modifications to the agenda. No one objected.

Motion #1:

Move to approve the agenda.

M: Mike DudekS: Greg McSorley

Motion passed by voice without opposition

Chair reminded participants of the IEEE patent policy. She asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE patent policy. (See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) No one responded. Chair made the call for patents. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE copyright policy. She asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the copyright policy. (See: https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/index.html) No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE Participation Requirements and showed the slide with the Participation requirements. She asked people to leave the call if unwilling to abide by this policy.

Chair reviewed the expectations and ground rules for the telephonic interim meetings.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Update, Beth Kochuparambil

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20 03/agenda 3ck 07 0320.pdf

- Reviewed the next series of meeting dates.
- Ad hoc meetings are proposed for 2 hours and interim meetings could be longer.
- It was noted that the proposed 13 May ad hoc date would conflict with the 100G MMF Study Group telephonic interim.

Chair noted that she received withdrawals from Piers on comments #145, 10145.

Chief editor pointed out that comment #35 was already closed and if we got to comment #36, he'd request to also resolve comment #33.

Comment resolution began.

Matt displayed a C2M comment discussion document. (see:

 $\frac{\text{http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20_03/brown_3ck_04_0320.pdf)}{\text{Changes were noted in an updated version 04a to be posted after the meeting.}} (See$

http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20_03/brown_3ck_04a_0320.pdf)

Chair noted intent to have a motion on minutes as well as a motion for Draft 1.2 at the next meeting.

The telephonic interim ended at ~10:00 am Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by
Adam Healey	Broadcom	Broadcom
Alan Kinningham	I-PEX	I-PEX
Alex Haser	Molex	Molex
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Arthur Marris	Cadence	Cadence
Arturo Pachon	Cisco	Cisco
Ayal Shoval	Synopsys	Synopsys
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco
Biman Chattopadhyay	Synopsys	Synopsys
Brandon Gore	Samtec	Samtec
Bruce Champion	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Champion Kao	Intel	Intel
Chan Chih (David) Chen	Applied Optoelectronics	Applied Optoelectronics
Chris DiMinico	PHY-SI	PHY-SI
Clint Walker	Alphawave IP	Alphawave IP
Dave Hess	Cord Data	Cord Data
David Malicoat	Senko	Independent
David Ofelt	Juniper	Juniper
David Piehler	Dell EMC	Dell EMC
David Rennie	Synopsys	Synopsys
Ed Frlan	Semtech	Semtech

Ed Ulrichs	Intel	Intel
Frank Chang	Source Photonics	Source Photonics
Gary Nicholl	Cisco	Cisco
Geoff Zhang	Xilinx	Xilinx
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight	Keysight Technologies
Greg McSorley	Amphenol	Amphenol
Hormoz Djahanshahi	Microchip	Microchip
Howard Heck	Intel	Intel
Inho Kim	Marvell	Marvell
James Weaver	Arista	Arista
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jeffery Maki	Juniper	Juniper
Jeremy Stephens	Microsoft	Microsoft
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
John Ewen	Marvell	Marvell
John Yurtin	Aptiv	Aptiv
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose
Kent Lusted	Intel	Intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom	Broadcom
Liav Ben-Artsi	Marvell	Marvell
Marika Immonen	TTM	TTM
Mark Kimber	Semtech	Semtech

Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Mike Dudek	Marvell	Marvell
Mike Li	Intel	Intel
Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Nelson Murga	Keysight	Keysight
Patrick Casher	Foxconn Interconnect Technology	Foxconn Interconnect Technology
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Piers Dawe	Mellanox	Mellanox
Priyank Shukla	Synopsys	Synopsys
Ray Schmelzer	Wilder Tech	Wilder Tech
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Scott Irwin	Mosys	Mosys
Scott Sommers	Molex	Molex
Stephen Didde	Keysight	Keysight
Steve Sekel	Keysight	Keysight
Steve Trowbridge	Nokia	Nokia
Tao Hu	Marvell	Marvell
Terry Little	Foxconn Interconnect Technology	Foxconn Interconnect Technology
Tom Palkert	Molex/Macom	Molex/Macom

Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Upen Kareti	Cisco	Cisco
Xiang He	Huawei	Huawei
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo