# Unconfirmed Meeting Minutes: IEEE P802.3dm Asymmetrical Electrical Automotive Ethernet Task Force General Ad Hoc

## December 12, 2024 Ad Hoc Meeting

Prepared by Natalie Wienckowski

IEEE P802.3dm Ad Hoc meeting convened at 10:02 AM EST, Wednesday, December 12, 2024, by Jason Sisk, IEEE P802.3dm General Ad Hoc Chair.

Attendance is listed in Appendix A

### Presentation:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/dm/public/adhoc/121224/agenda\_adhoc\_3dm\_01\_20241212\_pdf

Presenter: Jason Sisk, Chair.

Jason Sisk turned to presentation <u>agenda\_3dm\_01\_20241212.pdf</u> and reviewed the agenda for the meeting.

- Jason Sisk noted that there should be no recording or photography without permission.
- Jason Sisk asked if anyone was attending from the press including those who would run a
  public blog on this meeting there were no indications from the group.

Jason Sisk then continued review of the presentation, reviewing decorum, information for the reflector, private area, and ground rules.

**Attendance**, the Chair advised the group that attendance would be taken from IMAT. He then reminded attendees that they should show their employer & affiliation, and how to set these to make them correct. If anyone is unable to change what is displayed for their name, they were requested to post their name and affiliation in the chat.

The Chair announced that as this meeting was an electronic Task Force ad hoc meeting, under 802.3 rules, only working group voters may vote, however, as an ad hoc, no voting was expected - only procedural votes might be taken.

Jason Sisk explained where to find the rules, and asked whether anyone had not reviewed the various policy slides linked in the agenda email. There were no responses. He therefore announced that he would show the slides and summarize.

**IEEE SA Patent Policy**, Jason Sisk reviewed slides 0 through 4 of the IEEE SA Patent Policy and read aloud slides 1 through 4 of patent policy for Task Forces and made the call for patents (10:08 am).

There was no response to the call for patents at 10:09 am.

### Other IEEE Policies

Jason Sisk read aloud the slides on the IEEE SA copyright, Participant behavior (ethics), IEEE individual participation, and fair and equitable consideration policies. (10:10 am). There were no questions.

**Approval of Agenda:** The chair asked whether there were additions or corrections to the agenda, and there were none. She announced that the agenda was approved.

### **PRESENTATIONS**

The Chair then moved to the presentations for the meeting.

(10:16AM)

Title & URL: Proposed Text for the IL Link Requirements of IEEE 802.3dm

**Presenter:** Rich Boyer (Aptiv) and Rohit Sharma (Molex)

Discussion: The presenters shared test data of IL for various coax cable topologies. They

then extrapolated this for 15% degradation and 30% degradation to estimate variations for temperature and cable characteristics. The presenters proposed

and IL limit for P802.3dm.

Questions were asked and answered.

# (10:55AM) GENERAL DISCUSSION

Erwin Koepppendoerfer(Leoni) and Ragnar Jonsson (Marvell) plan to provide presentations at the December 19<sup>th</sup> ad hoc call.

### **FUTURE MEETINGS**

The next meeting will be held on December 19 at 10 am EST (7 am PST, 16:00 CET).

Please send presentation requests and presentations by December 16<sup>th</sup> AOE.

P802.3dm will meet Wednesday (1/22) afternoon, all day Thursday (1/23), and Friday (1/24) morning during the January Interim.

Having exhausted the agenda, Jason Sisk adjourned the meeting at 11:02 AM PST.

Appendix A: Attendees at the IEEE P802.3dm Asymmetrical Electrical Automotive Ethernet General Ad Hoc Meeting, December 12, 2024

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation
Ahuja	Ramanjit	Onsemi
Benyamin	Saied	Ethernovia
Boyer	Rich	Aptiv
Dalmia	Kamal	Aviva Links
DiBiaso	Eric	TE Connectivity
Fellhauer	Felix	Bosch
Fuller	Paul	Marvell
Gerl	Markus	MD Elektronik
Gorshe	Steve	Microchip
Hogenmueller	Thomas	Robert Bosch
Hoshino	Masayuki	Continental
Houck	TJ	Marvell
Hu	Mark	Aptiv
Hyakutake	Yasuhiro	Orbray Co., Ltd.
Jonsson	Ragnar	Marvell
Kapoor	Samay	Aviva Links
Kikuta	Tomohiro	Orbray Co., Ltd.
Klaus-	Jochen	CARIAD SE
Wagenbrenner		
Koeppendoerfer	Erwin	Leoni Kabel GmbH
Lewis	Jon	Dell Technologies
Liebl	Christian	Continental
McClellan	Brett	Marvell
Neulinger	Christian	MD Elektronik
Ng	Hiok Tiaq	Aviva Links
Oberg	Mats	Marvell
Pandey	Sujan	Huawei
Razavi	Alireza	Marvell
Sedarat	Hossein	Ethernovia
Sharma	Rohit	Molex LLC
Sisk	Jason	UNH-IOL
Tanc	Korhan	NXP
Tazebay	Mehmet	Broadcom
Torres	Luisma	KD
Wang	Frank SS. (Shun-Sheng)	Realtek
Wienckowski	Natalie	IVN Solutions/Ethernovia

Wolpers	Stephan	C&S
Wu	Peter	Marvell
Zerna	Conrad	Aviva Links
Zherebtsov	Aleksei	Marvell
Zimmerman	George	CME Cnsltg(ADI#APLGp#Csco#MRVL#ONsm#Sntks#Sony)